Gentle Giants

I promised to post weekly, but in case you did not notice, there were times I missed my goal. But, as promised in my last post, I’ll share about our interaction with the gentle giants, or locally known as butanding.

20140527-162337-59017973.jpg

The first time I saw a whale shark was when we visited a museum in Taguig, summer of last year. Although I only saw a statue, I was amazed on how huge the whale shark was, and how tiny I was beside it. I could be eaten alive if it were true. So, imagine my excitement when the family decided to go to Oslob and swim with the whale sharks, real whale sharks. EEEEEEEEHHHH!!!!! ❤

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whale sharks are usually spotted in Tan-awan, Oslob, Province of Cebu. Oslob is the southernmost tip of Cebu Island. It is approximately a three-hour drive from the city, passing through the Municipality of CarCar, and so on, until you reach the municipality of Oslob. The whale shark interaction usually happens in the morning, from six until noon, because that’s their feeding time. So you must be really early or stay in Oslob the night before. There are resorts around the area. The local fishermen’s interact with the whale sharks by feeding them by hand while tourists find it entertaining. 

Here are some of the photos that day.

Upon arriving at the Whale Shark Point, you have to attend a short orientation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went with my family. 🙂

If you don’t have a waterproof camera, you don’t have to worry, they have waterproof cameras for rent. 

DCIM100MEDIA

Its very large, and it looks like a whale but it really is a shark. But don’t be scared, they don’t bite. They eat plankton or shrimps. 🙂

DCIM100MEDIA

See that sharp fin above? And the tail? Yep, its a shark. 😉

DCIM100MEDIA

Helloooooo!!!!! p.s. Pardon my tummy. LOL! 😛

DCIM100MEDIA

The brother. *two thumbs up*

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

Groufie under water. 😀

DCIM100MEDIA

DCIM100MEDIA

’til my next adventure! 🙂

<3, A nina P.

One thought on “Gentle Giants

Leave a Reply

